A Whole New Wrangler Champions Challenge in 2017

Tuesday | Jan. 24, 2017

Rapid City, SD Contestants Announced

Colorado Springs, Colo.(January 25, 2017) – The Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots is entering its fourth full season on the ProRodeo calendar.

CBS Sports Network will again broadcast the tour, delivering 90-minutes of high-def coverage of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association’s best contestants competing on the sport’s best stock.

There are 88 contestants competing on 11 teams. Forty-eight of those contestants earned their way in by finishing in the top six in their respective event as determined by the 2016 year-end standings. The remaining 40 positions are filled according to the 2017 WEATHER GUARD® PRCA World Standings 14 days prior to each Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots event.

The prize money payout is $128,000 at each of the Wrangler Champions Challenge events – this is among the highest of any of the PRCA’s one-go rodeos.

2017 team sponsors include Wrangler, Justin Boots, B&W Trailer Hitches, RAM, Coors Banquet, Polaris RANGER, Resistol Hats, Experience Kissimmee and Las Vegas.

Team standings will be kept, and a champion crowned after the Wrangler Champions Challenge Finale this fall.

The made-for-TV series has a wide geographic spread with five events – plus a two-day Finale in the fall.

2017 Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots Schedule:

Rapid City, SD - Feb. 1

  • Broadcast Feb. 12 @ 10:30 PM ET

Grand Island, NE. - Mar. 3

Redding, CA. - May 20

Santa Maria, CA. - June 1

Spanish Fork, UT - June 4

Sioux Falls, SD. (Finale) - Sept. 29 & 30

2017 Rapid City Contestants

B&W Trailer Hitches Team

  • BB Winn Ratliff
  • SB Curtis Garton
  • BR Sage Kimzey
  • TD Braxton Laughlin
  • SW Dakota Eldridge
  • TRHD Luke Brown
  • TRHL Jake Long
  • WPRA Lisa Lockhart 

Coors Team

  • BB Orin Larsen
  • SB Cody Wright
  • BR Shane Proctor
  • TD Cade Swor
  • SW Clayton Hass
  • TRHD Dustin Bird
  • TRHL Russel Cardoza
  • WPRA Kimmie Wall

Experience Kissimmee Team

  • BB Justin Miller
  • SB Joey Sonnier III
  • BR John Leinaweaver
  • TD Cy Eames
  • SW Chance Howard
  • TRHD Kaleb Driggers
  • TRHL Junior Noguiera
  • WPRA Carmel Wright 

Justin Boots Team

  • BB Tim O'Connell
  • SB Zeke Thurston
  • BR Brennon Eldred
  • TD Tim Pharr
  • SW Jason Thomas
  • TRHD Jake Cooper
  • TRHL Dugan Kelly
  • WPRA Tiany Schuster 

Las Vegas Team

  • BB Chad Rutherford
  • SB Jake Watson
  • BR Clayton Savage
  • TD Caleb Smidt
  • SW Blaine Jones
  • TRHD Logan Olson
  • TRHL Chase Tyran
  • WPRA Amberleigh Moore 

Polaris Ranger Team

  • BB Jake Vold
  • SB Audy Reed
  • BR Lon Danley
  • TD Tyson Durfey
  • SW Matt Reeves
  • TRHD Levi Simpson
  • TRHL Jeremy Buhler
  • WPRA Calyssa Thomas

RAM Team

  • BB Tanner Aus
  • SB Ryder Wright
  • BR Cole Melancon
  • TD Seth Hall
  • SW Tyler Waguespack
  • TRHD Tom Richards
  • TRHL Tyler McKnight
  • WPRA Jackie Ganter

Resistol Team

  • BB Caleb Bennett
  • SB Jacobs Crawley
  • BR Garrett Smith
  • TD Marty Yates
  • SW J.D. Stuxness
  • TRHD Clay Smith
  • TRHL Paul Eaves
  • WPRA Jordan Moore


  • BB R.C. Landingham
  • SB Cooper DeWitt
  • BR Dalan Duncan
  • TD Hunter Herrin
  • SW Olin Hannum
  • TRHD Cody Snow
  • TRHL Wesley Thorp
  • WPRA Jana Griemsman 

Visit Rapid City Team

  • BB Yvan Jane
  • SB Jesse Wright
  • BR Scottie Knapp
  • TD Westyn Hughes
  • SW Shane Frey
  • TRHD Cody Tew
  • TRHL BJ Duggar
  • WPRA Pamela Capper

Wrangler Team

  • BB Bill Tutor
  • SB CoBurn Bradshaw
  • BR Joe Frost
  • TD Marcos Costa
  • SW Ty Erickson
  • TRHD Riley Minor
  • TRHL Brady Minor
  • WPRA Ivy Conrado


About the PRCA
The PRCA, headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo., is the largest and oldest professional rodeo-sanctioning body in the world. The recognized leader in ProRodeo, the PRCA is committed to maintaining the highest standards. The PRCA, a membership-based organization, sanctions approximately 600 rodeos annually, and there are more than 30 million fans in the U.S. The PRCA showcases the world's best cowboys by televising the sport's premier events, including the Wrangler Champions Challenge and the world-renowned Wrangler National Finals Rodeo on CBS Sports Net (DISH channel 158, DirecTV channel 221). The Justin Boots Playoffs and Championships, Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo, All American ProRodeo Finals, and the PRCA Xtreme Bulls Tour will also air on CBS Sports Net, as well as live stream at wranglernetwork.com. PRCA-sanctioned rodeos raise more than $26 million for local and national charities. For comprehensive coverage of the cowboy sport, read the ProRodeo Sports News, the official publication of the PRCA, and for daily updates of news and results visit the PRCA's official website, www.prorodeo.com.